Let’s go Christmas shopping!

If there is anything I love more than a crowded mall it’s a crowded mall full of (almost) last minute Christmas shoppers! It’s so joyous to test out my anxiety as I wait in a long line to buy wrapping paper or to ask where something is because for the life of me I cannot find it. There is so much serenity in the chaos of struggling to come up with ideas of what to buy people while worrying if I have enough money left in my bank account.

I shouldn’t complain though. I’m doing better than my usual Christmas shopping routine which ends in rushing to the shops on Christmas Eve. Usually this involves lots of overspending and far too much anxiety.

This year I’ve been slow to get started because there has been a lot going on and I just haven’t had the energy to wander around from shop to shop. I’m not good at buying a few little things here and there. If I have to Christmas shop I buy the bulk of my presents at once so that I don’t have to return to the shops or if I do have to return it will only be for a couple of items. I walk around with heaps of bags, looking like Miss Christmas but inside my head there are lots of angry thoughts. One day I might lose my filter and people will see what a grinch I really am!

I started off so well with my shopping today. I went into the first store I saw and found something that I thought my step-dad will like. The lady wanted to show me other designs but I was like, “Nah, that will do.” With a few exceptions I managed to get by with this attitude for most of my present shopping and I was able to return home happy that it’s pretty much finished.

Now it is time for my Christmas present. I get to wrap the presents. This is my favourite part of Christmas. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Let’s go Christmas shopping!

  1. I love wrapping the presents! I found some gift tags that are peel and stick this year, all nice and shiny, metallic… and so thin that when you write on them.. they rip.. and when you peel them, they leave the glue behind on the handy sheet… grrrr. lol. ho ho oh.
    or is it Ho oh oh…
    Are you making candy cane chocolate this year?

Leave a Reply

