A Peculiar Fear

You know how you hear stories about prisoners digging tunnels out of their cells with spoons or whatever else they can get their hands on? I wont ask my first stupid question, which is how do they do it without the tunnel collapsing around them, because I don’t want to seem like a complete moron. Cement is a stable material. I am assuming prisons are built with cement. I don’t really know what I am talking about.

My apartment block is built with bricks but I have no idea what the internal walls are made out of. I would like to think they’re bricks or cement. They sound pretty solid when you knock on them. I have this strange fear though.

Firstly, I share two common walls with two different neighbours. On one side is a lovely and quiet family and on the other is an older man who scares me. I am worried that one day when I am out of my apartment, he will dig his way through the wall. I don’t really have any reason why I think this could happen and I don’t really know what to do about it except hope that it never comes true.

Why would anyone want to tunnel through to my apartment? I don’t have a room full of gold. Maybe he wants to hide in my wardrobe… Ugh, maybe I have seen too many movies. If everyone who gave me the creeps turned out to be dangerous or evil then the world would be scary for everyone else. As scary as it is for myself!

Leave a Reply

