Professional Space

I like my new psychiatrist but I don’t love him. I loved my old psychiatrist but I hate her. He is kind, smart, funny at times and seems to understand a lot about me. She was basically a relative. She was my friend. She was a pathetic psychiatrist but I don’t think I was seeing her for professional advice towards the end. She was familiar. She was comfortable.

I know that things had to change and I didn’t really expect to see the old psychiatrist after my last hospital admission. I still don’t have any plans to see her again but I haven’t stopped seeing her either. By that I mean I am technically still her patient, I just don’t go to any appointments with her.

She doesn’t seem to care and that hurts a lot. I hate her but I want her to care. I hope she is worried and bitter about everything. I hope she is curious about me and jealous that I am seeing someone else. Becky from http://balfourthrb.wordpress.com/ wrote about her fear that her character defect is cruelty and I can really relate to that. I want my old psychiatrist to suffer because I am angry at the years I wasted with her. As a regular human being, I don’t wish her harm, really, but as a psychiatrist, I want her to feel like she failed me because she did fail me. She’s just a blur though. I shouldn’t separate her profession from her person. She doesn’t deserve two sets of emotions anymore.

There is space between my new psychiatrist and I, which is partly because I haven’t been seeing him for very long and partly because I think there needs to be space in these situations. It’s a good amount of space and it shouldn’t be confused with distance. I’ve had distance with other doctors, doctors who cared less about how I felt and more about telling me how I should be feeling. I’ve had distance with doctors I’ve despised because I was young and resented being in therapy. I think I was too close to my old psychiatrist and I got into her head a bit. She did what she could to stop my fists from going up in the air but she didn’t look further down the track. I’m quite sure I manipulated her without even trying (which is the best kind of manipulation, isn’t it?).

Maybe this is what she wanted all along. She knew I needed to be hospitalised, maybe she pushed it so much because she also knew that I didn’t want to be under her care in hospital. Now I am another doctor’s problem but, to his credit, I don’t think he sees me as a problem. I think he genuinely wants and tries to help.

With my new doctor it’s about what I can do to improve my life. With my old doctor it was more about what I could take in order to get through my life.

 

6 thoughts on “Professional Space

  1. I’m glad you’ve met someone who seems to genuinely want to help you, and someone who doesn’t see you as a problem. I’ve always felt this strange space between me and a new therapist, and there is really nothing else to do about it than time, with time it’s gets better, it gets safe and familiar, and the strange space goes away.
    I also hope she knows she failed you. I think it is strange how people can affect someone else in such a bad way without knowing about it. For instance kids who bully, they grow up to forget that they ever did that, but on the victims side it is always remembered.

Leave a Reply

