Weird Stuff I Ate As A Kid

I’m sure I’ve blogged before about how I am and always have been a picky eater. As a child I wasn’t keen on breakfast, I picked at my recess, I rarely ate lunch and refused to eat sandwiches. At dinnertime my mum usually had to make me a plain version of whatever she was cooking for everyone else.

Despite being a picky eater, I remember eating lots of different things which generally aren’t considered human food, such as:

  • ย Barbie feet- I didn’t actually swallow these, I just chewed on them. All of my barbies had gnawed feet.
  • Live ants- They tingle on your tongue like acid.
  • A leaf off a house plant- It was dark green and it gave me a stomach ache.
  • Some sort of stem which looked liked wheat but probably wasn’t- I liked to pretend I was a farmer, I guess.
  • Lipstick- I used to steal my mum’s lipsticks and eat them in secret.
  • Dry cat food- Because wet cat food would just be gross!
  • Fish food- Fish food tastes like fish!
  • A weird pod growing off a friend’s tree- We didn’t know what it was so I took a bite out of it. It didn’t taste good.
  • Ajax or something similar- There was a little patch of cleaning powder on our coffee table and I thought it was sherbet so I licked it.
  • Paper- I don’t think I actually swallowed paper but I was constantly chewing on it.

What are some weird things you ate as a kid or as an adult? I’m sure I wasn’t the only one who felt compelled to try odd things!

ย 

S&S

17 thoughts on “Weird Stuff I Ate As A Kid

  1. I laughed at the lipstick eating. Though it reminded me of something which was almost the reverse issue; I don’t think she actually did eat it, but my mother apparently had the urge to eat my chalk when she was pregnant with the elder of my younger brothers.

    Hmm… I ate a lot of plants, and parts of plants, that other people might have thought were weird. <.3. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Maybe kids are sort of drawn to eating plants in an instinctive sort of way. I’ve heard that pregnant women sometimes get weird cravings to eat dirt and other strange stuff.
      The lipstick thing was strange but I swear it tasted so good to young me. I would wind it all the way up and then chomp down. I wonder what my mother thought happened to all of her lipsticks!
      I tried to eat lipsmackers when I got older but they never tasted as good as they smell!

      • That’s hilarious. ๐Ÿ˜„ I believe you though. We like some weird things when we are little.

        That’s actually what my mom’s doctor told her! She had asked because she thought maybe she was just weird. hehe

        Yes! I think lots of kids really enjoy experimenting.
        —- In my case they are all plants I still eat (when I can), because they are actually edible things.
        I had them listed, but it seems like half my comment got erased somehow? So here’s some examples, perhaps you’ll be entertained.

        Like… The spongy innards of raspberry and salmon berry young branches (have to be young or you can’t strip the bark. They taste sweet)
        Rose petals (which depending on the variety are either sweet or bitter, and make great tea. Actually rose was *thee* flavour used for pastries before vanilla became popular. Rose is actually still really popular in India. :D)
        Clover nectar. (The petals are hollow, if you pluck them, you can suck the nectar out)
        Pine needles (which are bitter because they are really rich in vitamin c — though you have to be careful because not all evergreens are edible)
        Grape leaves. (Which isn’t actually that weird. You can get dolmades at Greek restaurants, but most people I know didn’t know that)

        I also ate lemons like most people eat oranges, sometimes I still do. ๐Ÿ˜„

      • I love dolmades! I didn’t know they used grape leaves. Rose water is used to make Turkish delight, isn’t it? How did you know to eat all of those things? Did someone show you?

      • Yes, I actually picked up the info from all over the place. My Dad was in search and rescue, so he would tell me some things — but we also had tons of survival books just laying around the house, so sometimes I’d read bits of them. ๐Ÿ™‚
        One of my best friends’ family was really ‘wildcrafty’ her Dad had learned a lot from being in the army, and her Mom knew a lot about gardening edible plants. It was from her I learned that roses are edible. ๐Ÿ˜€
        It was also at her house that I first ate grape leaves — but that was only after asking “are they poisonous?” and got a ‘no’, so I tried them.
        Of course my Dad being in search and rescue is probably the reason I didn’t shove more sorts of weird plants in my mouth without asking, the consequences were all too clear with stories of other kids being very sick or dying as misadventures.
        But I totally *wanted* to. For example : We had a starfruit tree in our yard when I was little, but I didn’t eat starfruit til I was an adult, because my mom didn’t know what they were and so forbade us from trying them. :\
        I stared at it longingly a lot.

        Turkish delight is quite possibly my favourite candy. ๐Ÿ˜€ — Yes, rosewater is indeed one of the ingredients, it also uses different varieties of citrus juice (& sometimes peel) for flavouring, and lemon is the most common. I looooove lemon. :3

        Oh, well if you like dolmades, perhaps you would be interested to know, as I was when I first looked, that they are super easy to make at home. ๐Ÿ˜€
        Kind of like cabbage roles, only way less work.
        Rice, ground meat of choice, chopped or minced onion, fresh lemon juice (a *must* for flavour reasons) tiny bit of tomato paste, fresh cracked black pepper, garlic, pinch of cinnamon, pinch of allspice, fresh parsley and fresh mint chopped, wrapped in a grape leaf, brushed in olive oil, put thinly sliced lemon in pan, cover halfway in stock (chicken or vegetable are best, light flavours) — Bake between half and hour and an hour depending on the rice. Super simple. ๐Ÿ™‚
        For a vegetarian option, one could use meaty olives for an authentic greek flavour. ๐Ÿ˜‰
        — The grape leaves are available in jars at many groceries stores. (probably in the “ethnic aisle”) They are better fresh, if you know anyone who has a grape vine, but that may not be feasible.
        The combination of the lemon and the grape leaf tang (and grape leaves are tangy if you ever have one fresh you’ll see, they taste like green grapes, only about a quarter as sweet)
        A local community garden may also have a vine you could request to pluck some leaves off of. ๐Ÿ˜‰

        I do two casserole dishes of my own invention which are based on them too. (one is spaghetti-dolmades and the other is just dolma-casserole [with rice, like dolmades are])

      • Wow, you sound like a great cook! Thanks for the dolmades recipes, I bet they taste so much better when they’re homemade. I usually buy them already made in a can.
        That’s so cool about your dad. My dad used to like camping so he had some basic sort of survival books but I don’t recall much about food. They were more about how to build shelter and start fires.
        I’ve never tried starfruit, I keep meaning to. Is it any good?

      • Starfruit is pretty okay, but I suggest making sure you get it when it’s quite ripe for better flavour, when it’s very yellow. It’s tangy like other citrus, but also crisp and very lightly sweet. It’s most similar in texture to bell peppers. ๐Ÿ™‚ (and just like bell peppers it get’s that “green” taste when it’s not ripe enough)
        Personally I like it, and if you enjoy peppers, I’d say give it a go.

        mm, not great but proficient! They are better home made, I haven’t had the tinned ones in about 5 years because of that. (That’s despite the want to be lazy ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

        I actually decided to make dolmades for dinner tonight because of this conversation. lol
        Notes/tips I remembered while cooking this evening:
        soak the rice in water (and drain it off so it’s easier to mix with the rest of the filling, you’ll be sticking it in the oven uncooked — You soak it, because rice grains absorb moisture at different rates, but once they absorb moisture they are easier to cook. If you soak them before hand, they will cook at the same rate. ๐Ÿ˜‰ )
        Cook the meat with the onion, but leave the garlic fresh for more bright flavour.
        Peppermint oil is an acceptable sub for fresh mint flavour wise
        Coriander (cilantro) chutney works as a sub for parsley
        half and half broth/water cuts down on salt with jarred leaves (which are already salty)
        Don’t forget to brush the tops with olive oil AND turn them over with tongs halfway, or you risk crunchy leaves. (unless you like crunchy leaves I guess. XD)

        Sorry for cluttering up your comments with recipes! (Though I do hope you get a chance to enjoy some dolmades. ๐Ÿ˜€ )

      • Thank you for sharing the dolmades tips! I want to make them, maybe I will soon. I’ll keep an eye out for starfruit, I’m not sure if it is in season here or where I will be able to get it. I hope you enjoyed your dolmades for dinner! ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

