How Not To Do Christmas Shopping Like Me

1. Don’t leave it to the last minute. This is what I usually do and on Christmas Eve I dash to the shops, usually with my brother and my anger grows the longer I am there. This year I have started early but I still haven’t bought any of the presents for people in my immediate family.

2. If you don’t have a car, don’t buy too much all at once. I started with one bag, then two, three, four, five and six. One of the bags broke when I was walking to the train station. I had to rearrange everything while frantically searching for my umbrella, which leads me to number 3.

3. Don’t shop in the rain! Don’t assume that the bitterly cold rain will cease once you’re inside the lovely heated shopping centre. Eventually you have to head home and walking with 6 bags turned into 5 all on one arm so you can hold an umbrella with the other isn’t comfortable.

4. Those shoes you love that are just a tiny bit too small? Maybe don’t wear them if you plan to do lots of walking. By the end of it, you’ll feel like your toenails have curved around your toes.

5. Don’t buy presents for yourself. You have limited funds and haven’t bought for everyone else yet. No matter how cool or cheap those presents are, you don’t really need them or you could always ask someone in your family to buy them for you.

6. Rolls of wrapping paper don’t have to be bought RIGHT NOW. It’s not even December yet. You could have bought them locally and then you wouldn’t have had to walk with them awkwardly tucked under your arm.

7. Try to keep track of what you’ve bought and how much you’ve spent. The more you spend on one person, the more you have to spend on everyone else and where is this money coming from? Bills don’t go on holidays over Christmas!

8. Buying the cat a present is definitely essential! 🙂

Now the fun part. I absolutely love wrapping presents!

20 thoughts on “How Not To Do Christmas Shopping Like Me

  1. Pingback: Christmas Shopping and Reflecting – Smart Stunning Searching

Leave a Reply

