Hold On…

“What’s going on here?”

I haven’t done anything wrong but I feel like I have. I am placed on hold without any explanation and I start to freak out a little bit. I have already waited twenty-five minutes to get connected to an operator, everything seemed to be going smoothly and then she uttered those words. I don’t know what’s worse, the music or the advertisements they mix in with it. Just as you get used to a particular tune, you’re tricked into thinking that there’s someone on the other end of the call.

I float around on hold for about five minutes hoping that I don’t have to start again with a different operator. This isn’t in my script. I haven’t prepared for this.

Her voice comes back, “Okay, [my name] that’s all sorted out. Is there anything else I can help you with?”

Where’s my explanation? What happened? Why didn’t she tell me she was putting me on hold?

I imagine that she made a mistake and quickly put me on hold before letting out a torrent of swear words. She is a professional. She has an image to uphold. I wouldn’t have minded the swear words though. I probably would have joined in with her.

I thank her quickly before anything else comes out of my mouth. Sometimes I ask stupid questions. Sometimes I forget what I am asking halfway through asking it.

Just another reason why I hate phone calls!

5 thoughts on “Hold On…

Leave a Reply

