Helping You

“I can’t listen to this song. It’s too…”

He turns the music up and stares ahead, almost daring her to switch off the radio.

Her arm reaches forward and he glares at her from the driver’s seat.

“Babe, please. I hate this song. It’s so depressing. I can’t listen to it, it reminds me of her.” she shouts over the music.

He lowers the volume slightly, “Jeez, calm down. It’s just a song, you don’t have to be so dramatic!”

“I’m not being dramatic. Can you please change the station?”

“Nah, I like this song. It’s my car, I’m driving, we’ll listen to what I want to listen to.”

He turns it back up.

She shouldn’t have told him why she hates the song. He gets annoyed when she brings her up.

He punches her playfully on the shoulder, “Don’t sulk, babe. I’m helping you. It’s important to remember, even the sad stuff. You know I am only doing this because I care about you.”

“I know…”

She stares out her window so he cannot see the tears in her eyes.

 

2 thoughts on “Helping You

Leave a Reply

