Headphones= don’t talk to me!

I haven’t written about my train experiences in a little while so here’s one which happened today.

I was standing on the platform waiting for a train and I was in a terrible mood. My day didn’t go as planned and I felt sad and disappointed. I noticed a sleazy looking guy staring at me so I sort of glared back at him. I feel so self-conscious when people stare. He moved closer to me and it made me feel awkward. I listened to music to kill time and to show that I wasn’t interested in engaging in any sort of conversation. He kept staring at me so I became really worried and looked away promptly. As the train pulled up, he came right up close to me and said something like, “You have beautiful eyes” but it was hard to hear with headphones in, he could have just as easily said, “You have huge thighs.” or “You have beautiful eyes…I want to keep them in a jar with the rest of my eye collection.” I got freaked out because I don’t handle these situations well so I hurried away to a different train carriage and spent the rest of the trip worried that he would find me.

Maybe if I hadn’t been in such a crappy mood and maybe if this guy didn’t have a creepy look about him, I might have actually said something like “thank you”, but that didn’t happen and now he probably thinks I am really rude, but I don’t care. I just wanted to get out of the situation as quickly as possible.

14 thoughts on “Headphones= don’t talk to me!

  1. I hope you’re fine. ❤

    I understand how you feel but I don't know what to do, so I posted something for you. I'd say they're still fresh. Freshly posted. 🙂

  2. The part about the eye collection made me remember a movie I watched a long time ago called “Jeepers Creepers”. 😛

    I always get so self-conscious and intimidated when people stare at me and don’t even look away when I look at them. I wish they’d just say what they have to say instead of staring.

    • Jeepers creepers, where’d you get those peepers? Haha, that movie is so freaky!
      There should be an unwritten rule that if you’re caught staring, you either look away as quickly as possible or explain why in the nicest/briefest way possible!

  3. eeeeps, I saw that movie too and thought of that. I am not sure if that is an appropriate comment/pick-up line? at a station. The staring too, it gets a bit creepy, I never like it. A look and smile is nice, even a wave. Staring is just… creeeeepy. I don’t think that would have gone well.

    now, has your day improved? oh wait, time to nag… How are you feeling?

  4. OMG, sorry, but some parts of that sounded so funny. Sometimes you sound like a comedian, truly. When I read – As the train pulled up, he came right up close to me and said something like, “You have beautiful eyes” but it was hard to hear with headphones in, he could have just as easily said, “You have huge thighs.” or “You have beautiful eyes…I want to keep them in a jar with the rest of my eye collection.” – I had to start laughing, so funny. I wouldn’t know what to say either, with the thought that he could have said any of those things and I didn’t know which one. 🙂

  5. LOL @ the parts about eyes & thighs. After I experience an incident like this I always come up with clever things I should’ve said. I usually manage a mumbled “thanks” and like you, move to another carriage.

Leave a Reply

