Sometimes I surprise myself

I’ve had moments where I have cried in public and no one cared or they were too scared to approach. I’ve also had moments where strangers have gone out of their way to help me.

Today I was walking to an appointment and I noticed a lady crying as she walked. I wasn’t sure what to do at first. I sort of lingered behind and then decided to speed up a bit and ask her if she was okay.

She said everything was messed up. She didn’t talk much and we had an awkward silence as I walked with her. I asked if she was going to the same place I was and she said yes. I asked her if there was anyone there she felt comfortable talking to and she said there was. I told her I hope her day gets better and walked in with her to make sure she was OK, then left her to go talk to whoever.

I saw her afterwards and she smiled at me. She was shy and so am I but she was grateful, I could tell.

Even with my anxiety and fear of being close to people, I would have sat with her, if she needed it. I always want to hug or help people who are upset because I know what it feels like.

12 thoughts on “Sometimes I surprise myself

  1. Such a beautiful gesture! Isn’t it interesting that those who know the depth of pain are often those who recognize it in others? You did a beautiful thing. So often we just want to know we are not invisible, to know that someone acknowledges our pain, or even our existence. You gave that gift. Well done.

    xoxo
    Monica

  2. “I always want to hug or help people who are upset because I know what it feels like.” That is definitely true.

    That’s why I stay close by you. And enjoy being one of your WP next-door neighbors. 😉

    When you’ve gone through so much, it becomes easy for you to relate to others who are going through the same.

    I was deeply moved by this incident. I know she appreciated what you did. I would never forget you if I had been in her place. ❤

Leave a Reply

