Get Down With The Sickness

I’m still sick and on antibiotics, ugh. I feel terrible but I had to go to the shops to at least get a card for my stepfather because tomorrow is father’s day. I don’t even know if I will be seeing him, I think we’ll postpone it until I am better but maybe by then there wont be any cards and I have no energy to make one.

When I got to the newsagency I started to panic. I don’t know why. I think my physical illness got into my head a bit and told me I am going to be sick around all of these people, which is one of my phobias. I rushed to the bathroom, which is a pretty big deal for me because I hate public bathrooms, they’re so germy and gross. That sounds ridiculous seeing as I am already a walking germ factory! I calmed myself down and tried to get my breathing back to normal.

I went back and grabbed one of the first cards I could find. I can’t even tell you what it looks like or what it says. It was six dollars.

When I am feeling better I will work on getting him a present. I feel like a terrible stepdaughter for not being more prepared but I guess I can’t help being sick.

I hate when my anxiety gets the better of me like that. It strips away all sense of effort and care. It makes me feel like everyone is staring and me and can see I am on the brink of losing it.

2 thoughts on “Get Down With The Sickness

  1. Still, it’s the thought that counts. To think about him and have this desire to give him a present, that’s already an expression of your love and care. I think somehow he had the idea that that’s what you really wanted to do for him and he appreciates it.

    He is happy and grateful to have a stepdaughter like you. I will bet on it–no, I’ll just cross my fingers, including my toes; I don’t have much luck in betting. 🙂

    • Thanks Melisa. We’ve postponed father’s day for a couple of weeks but I did call my stepdad and wished him a happy father’s day. He was totally understanding and fine with postponing the celebration, which is what I expected. 🙂

Leave a Reply

