Compliments Are Complicated!

“You’re really pretty.” She’s just being nice because she can see how awkward I am.

“No, I don’t think so…” Was she being sarcastic? Is she making fun of me?

“You are.” Should I say the same thing back to her? Would that sound too forced? Can we please talk about something else?

“Oh, uh, thank you.” Now she’s going to think I agree with her, ugh!

“Don’t worry, I’m not a lesbian or anything.” She thinks this is why I answered the way that I did. Why would this worry me? Why does she think this would worry me? What am I supposed to say to that? Is she asking me if I am a lesbian?

“It’s okay, thanks.” What the hell kind of reply is that?

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Compliments Are Complicated!

  1. I was nodding along to the first four lines and the last two made me laugh out loud. These conversations are so awkward. I usually reply by complimenting what she’s wearing, on the off chance that it’s hand knitted by her grandmother and then we can talk about alpaca wool or something totally unrelated.

Leave a Reply

