Daydreaming

Sometimes I imagine myself walking down the driveway of one of the other apartments nearby, walking up the stairs to an apartment door in the same position as my own, opening it, walking inside and finding another version of me.

As the other me, I would obviously be surprised and scared but if we were in fact the same person, I think both of us would find the whole thing pretty cool.

I imagine other me and current me always just miss each other. Maybe as soon as I come home from a walk, she leaves her apartment. Maybe we buy the same groceries but at different times of the day. Maybe the other me is past me and rarely goes out in daylight or rarely goes out at all. Maybe the other me is future me and has her life a bit more together.

Maybe we would hate each other and hate how we had such a stark reminder of our pathetic existence.

Most likely there is a completely different person living in a similar apartment and they wouldn’t appreciate my intrusion!

 

3 thoughts on “Daydreaming

  1. The line “Maybe we would hate each other and hate how we had such a stark reminder of our pathetic existence”…made me feel sad. Your writing is so real. I feel appreciation for the manner in which you just kind of put everything out there in all of its glaring honesty and truth of emotion.

Leave a Reply

