Dream/Reality/Poltergeist

I had a nightmare about the movie, “Poltergeist”, which I have never even seen. I don’t know much about the movie, I can assume it is about a meddling spirit and I think there is a little girl involved. As far as I can remember, I hadn’t seen or read anything recently about this movie, which made dreaming about it all the more strange. I can’t really remember what my nightmare was about either but it turned into another sleep paralysis experience.

I don’t know how I knew I was dreaming about “Poltergeist”, except that I remember that word being said over and over. Maybe I was imagining it, maybe I was saying it myself. I was aware that I was dreaming and that I was terrified. For some reason I decided I was dreaming about the movie, “Poltergeist”, rather than an actual poltergeist but I have no idea how I came to that conclusion.

I was terrified and every time I managed to sort of wake up, I couldn’t move and I couldn’t fight my weariness. I panicked. I knew I would slip back into my nightmare and there was nothing I could do about it. This happened multiple times. I kept switching between a dream world, the real world and the world of sleep paralysis.

I think I tried to remind myself that I haven’t even seen “Poltergeist” and therefore couldn’t really be affected by it. Maybe that is how I managed to finally escape the horrors of what I was experiencing.

I have no plans to see “Poltergeist”, is it actually that scary?

9 thoughts on “Dream/Reality/Poltergeist

  1. Perhaps. I saw it a while ago. It was a pillow on your lap movie. Big pillow. Waking from a deep sleep and not being able to move adds to panic. Is this the first time having nightmares with this movie?

  2. After a while going through my junior term at the university I attend I started having serious dreams – the kind where I’d all of a sudden get up seeing my whole pillow drenched in sweat.

    Terrifyingly it was almost always a similar nightmare: I’d be in the park when suddenly smoke would overwhelm me. I would then wake up panting and scared out of my wits at 4 AM in the morning.

    It sounds stupid now, but in those days I had cold feet at the thought of getting rest. I would try strange sleep schedules to avoid nightmares, but I frequently would forfeit the fight against the need for rest.

    In any case after a terrible nightmare I decided to browsing forums with the purpose of discovering potential remedies when I stumbled upon the idea of lucid dreams. I discovered various online “guidebooks” with tons techniques for lucid dreaming. Yet, after cracking at {them|these methods for around three weeks I continued to have no dominance over my nightmares. I finally stumbled upon a product report on one method: http://www.reviewspanel.com/lucid-dreaming-fast-track/ – and due to frustration bought it. Doing so was a great choice – After around three weeks I observed great control over my dreams. My experience makes me believe that my success is owed to the solid breakdown in the Lucid Dreaming Fast Track method.

    Anyways, hope that helps.

  3. Thank you for sharing your experience and for the link to the lucid dreaming fast track, it’s definitely something I will consider. I’ve been interested in lucid dreaming for a while but can never seem to do it. There’s only one time I remember having a lucid dream and that was when I was a kid. I had a dream that my mum had twin babies and I was so happy that I had some cute little sisters to play with. I remember saying, “I know this is a dream but I am going to make the most of it.”
    These days I would just like to be able to realise when I am having a nightmare and to take control of whatever is happening.

Leave a Reply

